RIP My Chemical Romance

Teengirl is devastated and by devastated I mean bereft, bereaved and forlorn.

My Chemical Romance – the band that first started her prolonged (and continued) emo phase – have split up.

The announcement came on Saturday and teengirl was inconsolable all day and night.

Part of me wanted to tell her to snap out of it, they’re just a band.  But to her right now they’re so much more and them splitting up is yet another loss for her.

Gerard Way, lead singer of MCR, wrote in an abstract essay that is believed to be about the demise of the band:

“Since I am bad with goodbyes. I refuse to let this be one. But I will leave you with one last thing-

My Chemical Romance is done. But it can never die.
It is alive in me, in the guys, and it is alive inside all of you.
I always knew that, and I think you did too.

Because it is not a band-
it is an idea.

Love Gerard”

And so I will try not be impatient with my precious teengirl who has experienced too much these past few months when she makes grand attention seeking statements, I won’t derail her thoughts of the past and the future with trite words of advice and talk of new bands to love.

I will listen and I will watch and when she wants to talk I’ll be there with my undivided attention on her really listening to her heart.

In his essay Gerard Way talks about ignoring his inner voice, he said:

“I ignored it, and the following months were full of suffering for me- I hollowed out, stopped listening to music, never picked up a pencil, started slipping into old habits. All of the vibrancy I used to see became de-saturated. Lost. I used to see art or magic in everything, especially the mundane- the ability was buried under wreckage.

Slowly, once I had done enough damage to myself, I began to climb out of the hole. Clean. When I made it out, the only thing left inside was the voice, and for the second time in my life, I no longer ignored it- because it was my own.”

I will try my best to hear my daughter’s true voice and I will not let her ignore it.

RIP My Chemical Romance – you brought my daughter joy and happiness and lyrics so powerful they helped lift her from her hole of despair last year.

She has sung along to every one of your songs at the top of her voice and felt the freedom your words brought her.  She has every single Umbrella Academy, your posters paper her walls and she’ll never now get to see you play live.  But despite her grief at the loss of Her Chemical Romance she understands that sometimes you’ve got to do what YOU need to do to make yourself happy.

My Chemical Romance will truly live on in the hearts and minds of every person their lyrics touched.

my chemical romance

My Chemical Romance – split up leaving teenage fans devastated. nation.com.pk

 

About mumtoteens

mum to two teens and a toddler - not a easy mix tbh. The oldest is 18, the middlest is 13 and the baby is 2 and we live a life full of love and chaos. View all posts by mumtoteens

One response to “RIP My Chemical Romance

Leave a Reply

